In a vain attempt to start blogging, I will tell you about my morning, but I must forewarn you that it it was the product of falling asleep early. Very early. 7pm early.

“Let’s go on a living spree! Shit, they say the best things in life are free”

Kanye

They say leave the guns to the gunmen, but today I have been slaying tasks like I’m fuckin’ Lancelot. It’s obscene, really.

3:30 I snap awake. Not panicked, but fully present, instantaneously. Now, the make or break decision. Go back to sleep? I close my eyes. Nothing. No swirls or patterns or tiredness or falling away of consciousness, nothing. So I sit up. Oh! There’s my crew list that I didn’t finish last night. So I finish it. Gaffer, grip, AD, voiceover artists. By now I’m fully awake.

I go to the bathroom. That grime has been staring me in the face for way too long. Oh what the hell, I have another 10 hours before class starts, I might as well clean the bathtub. Now that the tub’s clean, I might as well shower in it. Now that I have all this time I might as well shave, too. Hey! Looking fly.

It’s 5 am. Donut shop doesn’t open for another 30 minutes. But I’m hungry now! What the hell, it’s 5am. Why not cook pancakes and eggs? Sounds delightful, let’s do that. Well, the kitchens a mess. The sun hasn’t even risen yet. More work to be done! The dishes are done, the floor is swept, and the counters are wiped clean. I start my laundry. Might as well get two things done at once! I make breakfast.

I’ve always wanted to get that sun salutation into my muscle memory. Today’s the day! What a beautiful morning. 5 breaths and my breathing is back to normal. What a wonderful workout that was! I feel like I’ve just had a large cup of coffee. Now must be the time to read. Chapter 4 of Jack Hawley’s translation. Good stuff! Now that my reading is through it is time to reflect. Totally worth it. Go!

8am. There is much work to be done. I read two articles for class. Latin American cinema is the topic. Glauber Rocha’s manifesto on Cinema Novo, called “An Aesthetic of Hunger.” Portray the hunger in its rawest form. The hunger that precipitates the violence. Show the violence. Live the hunger. Be the change. A chapter from the GNS. Shot lists. Blocking. Cinematography plots. Reconnect the projector. Add another layer to the painting. STRETCH!!

It is time to go to the grocery. When I get back my laundry will be finished. I will fold it, and it will be noon.

